SPLIT BEING

pregnant-518793_640

His smile changes like a broken film spliced back together too fast.  He always moves like he is skipping frames.  He likes to reach for me when I’m not looking and draw back quickly every time I glance his way. I think he only does it because he knows it creeps me out.

The first time I met him he was hiding in my closet.  We were both six.  He was afraid of the monster under my bed.  The monster was my dog Shepard who was a Shepherd.  I stayed up all night every night for a month sleeping in the closet with him because he wouldn’t stop crying.  My parents were concerned and got rid of Shepard.

I am not six anymore and years of therapy have taught me it’s best to keep him a secret.  I really wish he would go away because he complicates my life, but I don’t want to hurt his feelings.  I can’t very well get rid of the brother I left behind in my mothers womb.

2 thoughts on “SPLIT BEING

Leave a Reply

