JUST PLAIN ME

11870651_10207275965558424_7693637457349753592_n

I was walking fast.  I felt like I couldn’t keep up.  I wasn’t running from anything but towards something.

My breath was heavy and I had a stitch in my side. Something felt important.

I was wearing plaid pj’s and red fuzzy yarn slippers.  I had long hair down to my waist with a few wavy curls and clown makeup on.  It wasn’t scary clown makeup but it looked sad.

It was dark and I couldn’t see anything until the next dim streetlight landed on me.  I didn’t realize I was in the middle of the street.  I was alone so it didn’t matter.

I stop to look around and there are churches lining both sides of the road.  Old churches on one side and new churches on the other.  I knew I needed to stand and wait.

I looked down at my fuzzy slippers and thought of The Wizard of Oz and clicked my heels three times.  Just as I finished all the church bells went off at once.  I still stood alone in the middle of the street.  I listened.

After they all stopped there was one still chiming.  It was chiming something familiar but I don’t remember what it was.  I think it must have been a love song. I moved toward that church.

The door was blue and when I touched it I realized it was liquid.  I step through and inside I found a maze of liquid mirrors.  They reflected my clown face in ripples.  As I walked through the maze my shape kept changing.  I was tall then short.  Old then young.  I was a monster and an angel.  I alternated between short, long, blonde, red, pink, and blue hair.

The last image I saw…. was just plain me.

One thought on “JUST PLAIN ME

Leave a Reply

