MORTICIAN’S LULLABYE

ae420f5a10f611e3831222000a9e08e7_7

His tall frame leaned over me

And examined my prone body

His kind eyes spoke in whispers

Finding all the heartache I held

Seeing all the trauma endured

He didn’t need to ask permission

But he did… before touching me

His hands moved respectfully

As he traced my deepest scars

Sighing as he weighed my heart

He was diligent and methodical

Stitching me

Cleaning me

Prepping me

He didn’t talk much

But then neither did I

As he tucked me in complete

Readied for my final sleep

Leave a Reply

