SILENT VISIONS

12138357_10207724543852601_8263695621437277109_oIt is not very often a nightmare will keep me up for days.

 

 

I dropped my eleven year old daughter off at the airport.  She held a stuffed bunny in one hand and a suitcase in the other.  She packed light so she wouldn’t have to check luggage.

I knew she was afraid to fly alone.  I was afraid to let her fly alone.  I told myself kids younger than her do it everyday. I tugged on her ponytail so she would look up at me and I kissed her forehead.

“I love you baby.”

“I love you more mom.”

And I watched as she boarded the plane.

I left and stopped off at the grocery store to distract myself from the anxiety I felt.  I was shopping when I noticed the Christmas music had stopped.  I was left the only one humming the rest of the song that had been playing.

I began to notice everyone in the store had stopped.  All of them had their backs to me.  All of them completely still and silent.  They were looking up at something.  Televisions.  They lined the store where the wall met the ceiling.

Not even the televisions made a sound.

Just planes falling from the sky….

 

*BASED ON A DREAM

One thought on “SILENT VISIONS

Leave a Reply

