WHAT I NEEDED… WAS YOU

engagement-1718244_960_720

 

I think I got lazy somewhere along the way

One step sideways and further off the track

The mountains, they grew taller overnight

And the rivers are drying up, no relief in sight

I have an ache somewhere

It’s been leading me in circles

Something just isn’t right

It’s a circus inside this skin

My feet don’t know where I am heading

And quite frankly neither does my heart

I’ve been floundering for quite some time

I’ve been using up all my quarters and dimes

I think maybe there is freedom to be had

So I continue to wander through thistles

My thoughts are barreling toward the sky

Afraid of the fall but hoping instead to fly

I have an ache somewhere

It’s been leading me in circles

Something just isn’t right

It’s a circus inside this skin

I think I must have found a magical oasis

Because when I finally stopped moving

You were standing there as if waiting

Having watched me in all my flailing

I finally found a quiet place of comfort

A place I know I can finally sit and rest

All I ever really needed to feel home

Was to find you

3 thoughts on “WHAT I NEEDED… WAS YOU

Leave a Reply

