TARNISHED GOLD

I reconciled myself to you

Felt the misery and the joy

Your pain and heartache

I yearned to take from you

I brought my golden thread

And I set out to sew pieces

That were dangling there

You were ragged and torn

But an original rarity

Beauty far beyond each fray

I stitched the neglected parts

The heart and the soul

But they didn’t feel right

With the golden shine

Your pieces didn’t feel

Very much like home

I then told you to wait

The gold will tarnish

And I showed you mine

Threads no longer gold

But burnt and bloodied

Our history comes back

It will make its mark

But the pieces will hold

We may be tarnished

But we are also gold

Leave a Reply

